YUN is a new project with Bo Van der Werf (baritone sax), Jozef Dumoulin (fender rhodes), Erik Vermeulen (piano), Manolo Cabras (double bass), Marek Patrman (drums). Arrangements, voice and electronics by Lynn Cassiers.

Release New Album ‘YUN’ -Clean Feed, June 2020

“YUN is Chinese for cloud and refers to a period in which I sang standards in a Chinese jazz club. It’s an ode to anachronisms and other time-space related discrepancies present in our daily lives. Our identity today seems less and less defined by what is supposed to be ‘our own heritage’ and I’d like to embrace that idea in it’s full extend…”

‘YUN’ is the latest project of the Belgian singer Lynn Cassiers. It assembles 6 eminent personalities of the Belgian jazz scene into an electro-acoustic ensemble. Their music explores and challenges the identity of jazz’ oldest traditional heritage in a contemporary setting. Cassiers re-arranged 8 jazz standards out of the American Songbook in a way that it could provide new grounds for improvising and accommodate the classic melodies with different harmonic structures. During a one week residency at deSingel, the band had the chance to get acquainted with the new material and with each other. Followed by a tour over 10  Belgian stages. The music gradually took shape, alluding to a surprisingly divers array of styles and resulted in what is now the album ‘YUN’. It’s about the sheer joy of exploring a music where contemporary and traditional approaches can find a way to co-exist.


Tracks: I You We – Nucleus – All – Move Them Mountains – Call It off – Nimbus – Seemin’ Easy – Nebula – Fair Deep Blue Skies – We’ll Be Again – Nube Mechanica – But

Recorded June 2019 @ Dada Studios by Peter Soldan. Mixed and Mastered by Manolo Cabras. Art work by SAPOROSI&PAROLE. Band pictures by Laurent Orseau.

With the support of Jazz Lab 2.5, deSingel and the flemish government


Yun recording at DADA STUDIOS by Laurent Orseau


Yun Live at Flagey by Laurent Orseau



yun_de standaard pdb

YUN Le Soir 12 août